Accessibility Links

Select a Language:

  1. English Language
  2. German Language
  3. Dutch Language
  4. French Language
  5. Italian Language
  6. Czech Language
  7. Danish Language
  8. Swedish Language
  9. Croatian Language
  10. Finish Language
  11. Portugal Language
  12. Spanish Language
  13. Norwegian Language
  14. Macedonian Language
  15. Serbian Language
  16. Polish Language
  17. Hungarian Language

Main Content:

Latest News


ECEAE welcomes EU approval of Allergan’s non-animal test for botox


The ECEAE has today welcomed the announcement by Allergan that EU approval of its in vitro, cell-based assay for use in the stability and potency testing of BOTOX® and VISTABEL® has been gained*. 

The USA, Canada and Switzerland have already approved the in-vitro test for both medical and cosmetic versions of Botox

Michelle Thew, ECEAE Chief Executive states: “We are pleased that Allergan has achieved approval by the European regulators for the first non-animal based assay for the potency and stability testing of Botox® and Vistabel®. This is a significant step forward. Allergan has shown that it is possible to replace the cruel mouse bioasssay. We now call on those companies manufacturing botulinum toxin products, including Ipsen and Merz, to follow Allergan's lead.”

The traditional animal test for the batch release of all botulinum products uses mice and is designed like the Lethal Dose 50 (LD50) tests. LD50 tests determine the dose at which 50% of the mice would die and involve severe suffering for the animals. Mice are injected into their abdominal cavities with the toxin and then, over three days, are observed to see if they have died or are showing signs that they will die shortly from the toxin.

The ECEAE has long campaigned for an end to the cruel use of animals in botulinum toxin tests and recently welcomed the chance to discuss the next steps in this effort with Allergan. In the recent meeting, Allergan confirmed that the company aims to end all animal testing for the commercial (batch) release of BOTOX®, Botox Cosmetic and VISTABEL® once all stages of regulatory approval has been cleared. 

For more information on the ECEAE campaign.

* European countries that have approved the alternative: 

For BOTOX®, Ireland serves as the Reference Member State in the Mutual Recognition Procedure. The other countries involved are Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxemburg, Norway, Portugal, Spain, and Sweden. National licence variations have been filed in the other European Union countries are are thrfore waitng for approval seperately.

For VISTABEL® (called VISTABEX® in Italy), France serves as the Reference Member State covering 29 countries in the EU, namely Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.


Top of the page